
 
Per Nevada Revised Statute (NRS) Chapter 575:  Livestock assessment fees MUST 
be current to receive livestock movement permits.  

Operation name: ________________________________________________________________  

Contact person:  ________________________________________________________________  

Mailing address: ____________________  City, State: __________   Zip Code: _____________  

Physical Address: ___________________  City, State: __________   Zip Code: _____________  

Email address:    ________________________________________________________________ 

Phone: ______________________________       Phone: ________________________________     

Nevada livestock brands (one permit per livestock brand owner or family operation):    

______________________________________________________________________________  

______________________________________________________________________________  

Number of 2024 annual livestock movement permits requested: _____________  
Application Fee:  $25 per application (with movement permits at no additional charge).  

PLEASE NOTE:  This application is not valid without owner signature on reverse.  
ALL LIVESTOCK MOVEMENT PERMITS FROM PRIOR YEAR(S) 
(USED OR NOT) MUST BE RETURNED TO THE ELKO OFFICE  
BEFORE ANY NEW PERMITS WILL BE ISSUED.    

Please do not write below this line (for official use only).  
_____________________________________________________________________________________  

Number of permits issued: _________  Permit numbers:  NV_____________  Date mailed: ___________  

Number of permits issued: _________  Permit numbers:  NV_____________  Date mailed: ___________  
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2024   Livestock Movement Permit Application  
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NAC 565.220  Special permits. (NRS 565.040, 565.070, 565.090)  
     1.  The Director may issue special permits in the following specific instances:  
(a) Horse permit: The Director may make available an annual or lifetime permit for the 
movement of any horse that may be used in lieu of a brand inspection if the permittee:           (1) 
Completes an application on a form provided by the Department; and  

(2) Pays for each horse:  
               (I) A fee of $35 for an annual permit; or                
(II) A fee of $75 for a lifetime permit.  
(b) Livestock movement permit: The Director may issue a permit for the movement of livestock 
within this State. A livestock movement permit may be used to move livestock that have been 
branded with the brand of the permittee recorded with the Department pursuant to chapter 564 of 
NRS but have not been inspected by a brand inspector. A livestock movement permit is required 
for the movement of branded livestock across the boundaries of a district unless the livestock have 
been inspected by a brand inspector. Before moving livestock pursuant to a livestock movement 
permit, the permittee shall complete a statement on a form provided by the Department that 
includes, without limitation, the number of livestock being moved, a description of the livestock 
being moved, the brands and markings of the livestock being moved, and the destination of the 
livestock being moved. The permittee shall carry a copy of the completed form during the 
movement of the livestock. Not more than 10 days after the movement of the livestock is 
completed, the permittee shall submit a copy of the completed form to the Department. A 
livestock movement permit is not valid for:  

(1) The transportation of livestock across the boundaries of this State;  
(2) Proof or change of ownership;  
(3) Slaughter;  
(4) The transportation of unbranded livestock, except unbranded calves and foals traveling        

as pairs or accompanied by proof of brand inspection or other proof of ownership.  
(5) The transportation of calves with brands that are not healed and peeled; or           (6)  

Except as otherwise provided in subparagraph (4), any cattle not branded with                   
the brand of the permittee recorded with the Department pursuant to chapter 564                    
of NRS.  

2. The State Board of Agriculture shall establish a reasonable fee for the issuance of a        
special permit and shall post the amount of the fee on the Internet website maintained       by 
the Department.  

3. The Director may revoke a special permit specified in this section if the permit is used                 
     for a purpose other than the purpose for which it is issued.  

_____________________________________________________________________________________  
  
My signature acknowledges that I have read the above NAC 565.220 and any violation 
will result in the suspension of this privilege. Further, should my livestock come under 
a quarantine or hold order, this permit will be surrendered.  
  
_____________________________________      ______________________  
Applicant signature              Date  
  
Please send completed application and payment to the NDA Elko office.   

Please remember to return prior year’s movement permits to the Elko NDA office.  
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